Blog Post #5 – 2015

10934469_10204436961017016_756117003_nGood Morning!

Confession: I am a terrible blogger. I find it incredibly difficult to write much on here because if I have a super good idea I want to save it for publication and if I have an average idea I don’t want to write it at all BUT this year I hope to be different…

I started reading On The Road, because I figured as an aspiring essayist/ travel writer I should have read these things, and just ten pages in I found myself some wisdom:

Man, wow, there’s so many things to do, so many things to write! How to even begin to get it all down and without modified restraints and all hung-up on like literary inhibitions and grammatical fears.

This is everything. Writing is hard because it is brave. As Joan Didion wrote it “is the act of saying I, of imposing oneself upon other people” – something I find incredibly hard to do. Questioning oneself is important but for me it’s gotten out of control. There has to be a point when you decide to shut up and write. It could be the passing of another year, or it could be a moment of insanity, but I think it’s time.

